World War II Love Story

My Father joined the Navy and was stationed in the South Pacific during World War II.  While serving on Guam and Saipan, he kept a daily journal.  I was fascinated to read his accounts of basic training, dancing at the U.S.O., shipping out from crippled Pearl Harbor, and repairing damaged bombers in the arena of war. 

He spoke of hopeful rumors of peace talks…then recorded his disappointment when the rumors were proved false.  Peace talks began in earnest when the bombs were dropped on the Japanese mainland.  It was another three months after the war ended, however,  before  he shipped home.

Using my Father’s diary accounts and time line, I created a fictional novel weaving a story of love and loss from the past into a love story in the present.  The resolution of both stories is intertwined with providence and destiny, and a healthy dose of history repeating itself. 

The present day story line is set in Door County, Wisconsin, the Cape Cod of the Midwest.   My current book is entitled Timeless and is the fourth novel in my Door County love story series.

Can a love lost in the past be redeemed in the future?  Love is for now and forever…love is Timeless.

About Sharon L. Clemens

Sharon and husband Merle and their children owned and operated a specialty shop and restaurant in a restored dairy barn for thirteen years in a village in Illinois. After closing their restaurant, they converted the barn into the family home and moved their shop to the garden level. They operated a collectable shop as a home-based business for another thirteen years before retiring to the country life. Sharon has been a special feature guest on the local NBC telelvision affiliate and has spoken professionally on topics relating to herb gardening and cottage lifestyle. In addition to conducting workshops and programs, Sharon writes a weekly cottage lifestyle e-newsletter called “Cottage Chat” and a Word Press blog: Seasons of Farm Grove. She has written five novels, The Younger Girl, Door County Cottage, Timeless-A Door County Love Story, Door County Cabin and Door County Escape, love stories with traditional values set in Door County, Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to World War II Love Story

  1. You are so lucky that someone thought to preserve these letters. Recently I received just two letters that my father had written to his mother while he was stationed in France during WWII. I haven’t blogged about them yet but I can say that just holding the actual letters in my hands was very moving.
    Evelyn in Montreal

    • Sharon L. Clemens says:

      Evelyn,
      Valuing the past enough to keep it is a difficult concept, isn’t it. I do a program called Attic Heirlooms to teach the intrinsic value of collectables, not the monetary value. It takes only one generation to “lose” significant links to family history simply because records and keepsakes were not preserved. But in our too busy, disposable mindset, we don’t take the time to do it or make a place to keep it. It has been my experience that later in life, families that dispose of everything regret it.

  2. I’m trying to pass on that idea to my students by getting them to think about everyday objects as artefacts. I’ve been doing it for three years but till now I was starting at zero each year to get these ideas across to 10-11-12 yr.olds.
    Now that we’re blogging at http://allthingsquebec.wordpress.com
    (excuse the plug but they are kids!!!) I think it’s going to go better because now they’ll be able to see ideas online before starting their own projects.
    I realize you’re a professional, but if you ever want to write a paragraph or two for my students about the importance of preserving things I’ll be happy to post it along with a link back to your site.
    Evelyn in Montreal
    (Teacher 24/7)

    • Sharon L. Clemens says:

      Evelyn,
      I will be happy to jot down some thoughts and e-mail them to you. As a former teacher myself, I agree that instilling an appreciation for life objects opens up a whole new dimension that will enrich young lives.
      Sharon From Farm Grove
      farmgrove@verizon.net

Leave a Reply

