Rose Hip Wrinkle Cream Adventure

When I read on a Pinterest pin that rose hips are an effective ingredient in wrinkle cream, my interest peaked.  I have wrinkles and I have rose hips.  Rose hips are the fruit of the Rugosa Rose varieties.  I love picking the ruby red berries from my two bushes in early autumn.  Sprays of branches decorate my barn home in the fall and I dry them to use in potpourri and for a citrus-flavored tea that is high in healthy vitamin C.  An herbalist told me the small rose hips of the Multi-flower Rose that have spread around Central Illinois have the same amount of vitamin C as six oranges, so these larger hips are power-packed.  The blog where I found this recipe, however, said it was the vitamin A that was the “secret” to erasing wrinkles.  I have my fingers crossed.

IM0072301.  Assemble ingredients:  Coffee grinder, extra virgin coconut oil, dried rose hips and glass container.  I ground about 1/2 cup of hips in the grinder and placed the grounds in the glass container.  I then filled it with coconut oil to the neck of the container and microwaved the hips and oil for 30 second intervals until the oil was completely melted.

IM0072322.  I let the hips steep until the oil was cool, then heated the oil again in order to strain it.   IM007241

3. In order to remove as much of the rose hip fiber from the oil as possible, I placed a piece of old silk in a mesh strainer and poured the warm oil into it. IM007242

4.  Strain the oil into a heat proof pan.  Squeeze the silk in order to release as much oil as possible.

IM007244

5.  I added a teaspoon of shaved beeswax and 1/8 cup of generic facial lotion/cream to the pan, heating it over low heat until the beeswax was melted.  You may use JoJoba oil instead of a bottled lotion. The oils did not mix together at this stage, but the beeswax incorporated into the other oils.

IM007245

6.  Pour oils into glass container.  Let set until oils cool; they will separate as they cool.  Whip oils together to blend.  You may stir the oils in the container or place them in a small bowl and whip with a hand whisk to form a rich, apricot-colored cream.

IM007250

IM007249

7.  Place in container and label.  Use in the evening on those problem spots.  Massage cream into the skin so there is little residue.

I am curious to see if this herb-based cream will diminish my crows feet and the corrugated cardboard that calls itself my upper lip.  Even if it does not work miracles, I enjoyed the process.

About Sharon L. Clemens

Sharon and husband Merle and their children owned and operated a specialty shop and restaurant in a restored dairy barn for thirteen years in a village in Illinois. After closing their restaurant, they converted the barn into the family home and moved their shop to the garden level. They operated a collectable shop as a home-based business for another thirteen years before retiring to the country life. Sharon has been a special feature guest on the local NBC telelvision affiliate and has spoken professionally on topics relating to herb gardening and cottage lifestyle. In addition to conducting workshops and programs, Sharon writes a weekly cottage lifestyle e-newsletter called “Cottage Chat” and a Word Press blog: Seasons of Farm Grove. She has written five novels, The Younger Girl, Door County Cottage, Timeless-A Door County Love Story, Door County Cabin and Door County Escape, love stories with traditional values set in Door County, Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Cottage lifestyle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

