Happy Little Tomato Sprouts

It does my heart good to visit my tomato sprouts each day, spritzing them with their morning shower.  Last year I planted a non-hybrid heirloom tomato called Rutgers.  They were complimentary seeds from a web site I’m afraid I can’t remember.  I sent for them [paying only postage] in order to get a self-sustaining variety going in the garden.  Non-hybrid varieties will reproduce themselves but hybrids will not.  Well, you may get a plant from a hybrid but it won’t necessarily be the same tomato from last season.

IM008148

At the end of the summer I split open a ripe tomato, spread the seedy pulp out on a paper towel exposing the seeds, and let it dry in a cool place.  Then I rolled it up and stored it in my seed basket.  A month ago I peeled seeds from the paper and planted them in a small jiffy pot planter.  I followed the instructions about wetting the pots, put the lid on, and let the little mini greenhouse languish on a sunny windowsill until the sprouts began pushing at the top of the lid.  Then I thinned the sprouts to only two stems per pot.

In another couple of months they should be big enough to transplant the entire peat pot into the garden.  Of course I will wait until after Mothers’ Day, the date when frost is no longer likely in our area  Next year I will repeat the process.  I may never buy tomato seeds or plants again!

Islands of snow spot the frozen ground outside but this little touch of green makes me think of spring.

 

About Sharon L. Clemens

Sharon and husband Merle and their children owned and operated a specialty shop and restaurant in a restored dairy barn for thirteen years in a village in Illinois. After closing their restaurant, they converted the barn into the family home and moved their shop to the garden level. They operated a collectable shop as a home-based business for another thirteen years before retiring to the country life. Sharon has been a special feature guest on the local NBC telelvision affiliate and has spoken professionally on topics relating to herb gardening and cottage lifestyle. In addition to conducting workshops and programs, Sharon writes a weekly cottage lifestyle e-newsletter called “Cottage Chat” and a Word Press blog: Seasons of Farm Grove. She has written five novels, The Younger Girl, Door County Cottage, Timeless-A Door County Love Story, Door County Cabin and Door County Escape, love stories with traditional values set in Door County, Wisconsin.
This entry was posted in Cottage Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Little Tomato Sprouts

  1. cranberry54 says:

    Happy birthday Sharon and thanks for your posts as examples to me. 😊

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

